Webinar: Recent FDA Draft Guidance on Social Media: Implications for Drug and Device Marketing in the Digital Age

Practices: Life Sciences

 

Tuesday, July 22, 2014 • 1-2 p.m. ET • 12-1 p.m. CT • 10-11 a.m. PT

With the advent of online and social media tools such as message boards, chat rooms, Wikipedia, Facebook, and Twitter, drug and device manufacturers now have a direct link to communicate with users and potential users of their products, and equally important, consumers have the means to communicate with each other about their experiences. After delaying for more than a decade, FDA has issued three draft guidance documents this year related to manufacturer communications on the Internet and via social media platforms. Collectively, the draft guidance documents address the circumstances under which a manufacturer may be accountable for content conveyed through social media; provide FDA’s recommendations for drug and device promotion on platforms with character space limitations, such as Twitter; and offer considerations for manufacturers that wish to correct misinformation about their products posted on the Internet or social media by independent parties. This webinar will address the regulatory challenges posed by online and social media communications, describe the implications of recent FDA draft guidance, and provide practical advice for companies to consider when developing their compliance strategies.

 


For question regarding this webinar, please contact: rgevents@ropesgray.com

Cookie Settings