Event

Webinar: Handling & Protecting Sensitive Data by Colleges & Universities: Beyond HIPAA & FERPA

Practices: Health Privacy & Security, Health Information Technology & Electronic Health Records

Thursday, June 19, 2014 • 1-2 p.m. ET • 12-1 p.m. CT • 10-11 a.m. PT

Colleges and universities collect, process, store and share a lot of sensitive data. While this includes health care information and educational records, there is a wealth of other interesting and valuable data that passes through universities’ computer systems. This includes financial information on students, employees and donors; credit card and other payment data; and research information.

Regulatory and consumer expectations regarding what can be done with such data and the steps that should be taken to protect it are rapidly evolving. In an important development, Federal Trade Commission officials, responding to a number of reported breach events at universities, have expressed concern that universities are not doing enough to protect sensitive data. The agency has proposed expanding its jurisdiction regarding data issues to include nonprofit institutions – in an environment where enforcement activities in general, relating to breaches of data use or security, are increasing.

This program will outline the current data regulatory environment that universities find themselves in, discuss the potential changes being proposed in Washington and elsewhere, and provide practice guidance for ensuring your institution is taking steps to meet the heightened expectations of regulators and consumers.

 

For question regarding this webinar, please contact: rgevents@ropesgray.com