Lawyers Alliance for New York Honors Ropes & Gray with its Highest Pro Bono Honor

Rankings & Awards
November 1, 2019

Lawyers Alliance for New York (LANY), a provider of business and transactional pro bono legal services, has honored Ropes & Gray with the Cornerstone Award, its highest pro bono honor.  The award, presented at an Oct. 30 reception, recognizes a wide variety of corporate, intellectual property, employment and real estate law projects that attorneys have handled—including negotiating a lease for an agency serving the elderly; advising a charter school; and helping to review and update HIPAA-related policies, procedures and forms. Ropes & Gray’s work encompasses more than 25 matters since 2017 alone. It has enabled nonprofit clients to improve their programs, finances and operations, which, in turn, has helped to strengthen neighborhoods throughout New York City.

Managing partner-elect David Djaha and real estate counsel Laurie Nelson accepted the award on the firm’s behalf; Djaha and Nelson were also recognized individually for their longtime service to LANY: more than 10 years for Djaha, and more than 15 years for Nelson. Joining Djaha and Ms. Nelson at the New York ceremony was pro bono coordinator Byrne Harrison.

“We’re humbled and honored to receive the highest honor from the Lawyers Alliance. We’re tremendously proud of our attorneys, who have used their deep knowledge of particular issues in the law to develop actionable solutions for LANY to improve New York communities,” said Djaha. “Our work is hardly done. Lawyer’s Alliance continues to take on ambitious work and our attorneys are proud to provide strategic counsel and leadership on those projects.” 

Current Ropes & Gray lawyers who have worked on the LANY matters for which the firm was honored include: Alexandra Alperovich, Jessica Band, Lauren Biggs, Stefanie Birkmann, Megan Bisk, Sarah Blumenthal, Tom Bulleit, Garrett Charon, Drew Clary, Harvey Cotton, Isabel Dische, David Djaha, Ryan Duerring, Drew Fishback, Jennifer Geffner, Debbie Gersh, Gil Ghatan, Pam Glazier, Richard Harris II, Jay Kim, Danna Kivell, Daniel Kolb, Michael Lampert, Aaron Lichter, Anthony Mongone Jr., Christine Moundas, Laurie Nelson, Bob Rivollier, Matt Ruffe, Ivette Sanchez, Robb Tretter and Young Sik Yoon.